渗透:缺陷类型和成因

真正的(机械/物理)渗透的根本原因是金属静压力、浇铸过程中的动压力和凝固过程中的结晶压力。

可能的形成机理

砂模具有与其存储密度相应的孔隙系统。在金属和造型材料之间的边界上,金属静压力、造型材料的毛细力、润湿性和金属表面张力之间存在着一个平衡。在铸造过程中,当金属液遇到模型表面的砂粒时,金属液会在金属静压力的作用下渗入模型表面的孔隙,直到在模型表面处的界面张力和渗透压力(金属液渗入砂粒最外层的临界压力值)之间达到平衡。因此,铸件表面会变得粗糙。
抵消渗透压力的界面张力受造型材料的毛细力(主要是孔隙度)、模型表面的润湿性和表面张力影响。主要成分为Fe-C的浇铸材料的界面张力相对较高。该张力的范围主要受主合金元素的化学成分和其表面活性元素如铋、铅、磷、硅等的影响。添加铈、钠和锆也会增加界面张力。
金属液润湿模型表面的砂结构,并使其呈现出不同的强度(粗度、润湿深度)。渗透压力、造型材料粒径、孔隙半径和砂粒密度越大,同时界面张力越小,则润湿深度能达到的值越大。因而可以通过形成光亮的碳层显著影响模型表面的润湿角及润湿性。
压实的模具的孔隙半径大小主要取决于颗粒结构(粒度、粒度分布)、添加剂(粘合剂、沉积物的比例)、紧实强度(堆积密度)以及造型材料的烧结性能。
当粗糙深度大于或等于造型材料颗粒半径时,我们使用术语渗透。这说明,只有在考虑到造型材料粒度的条件下才能区分表面粗糙和渗透。

因此以下影响因素可能导致渗透:

  • 造型材料的粒度太大且粒度分布太广
  • 粘合剂和沉积物的比例太低
  • 形成光亮碳的材料比例太低
  • 铸造材料的不利化学成分与过高的铸造温度和金属静压力相结合
  • 外模或型芯紧实度不足或不均匀
  • 浇道系统不足,因而外模或型芯铸件过热

Penetrations: Defect Pattern & Causes

Fundamental causes for real (mechanical/physical) penetration are metallostatic pressure, dynamic pressure during casting, and crystallization pressure during solidification.

Possible formation mechanisms

Sand molds display a certain pore system that corresponds to their packing density. At the boundary between the metal and the mold material, there is a balance between the metallostatic pressure, the capillary forces of the mold material, the wettability and the surface tension of the metal. When the melt meets the grains of the mold surface during casting, it can penetrate into the pores of the mold surface under the effect of the metallostatic pressure until a balance between the interfacial tension at the mold surface and the penetration pressure (critical pressure value at which the melt penetrates through the topmost layer of grains) has been reached. As a result of this, the surface of the cast piece is rough.
The interfacial tension, which counteracts the penetration pressure, is influenced by the capillary forces of the mold material (primarily by the porosity), by the wettability of the mold surface and by the surface tension. The interfacial tension of casting materials on an Fe-C basis reaches relatively high values. The extent of this tension is influenced primarily by the chemical composition of the main alloying elements and the presence of surface-active elements, such as bismuth, lead, phosphorous, silicon and others. Adding cerium, sodium and zircon also increases the interfacial tension.
The melt wets the sand structure of the mold surface and displays it with varying intensity (roughness, wetting depth). The larger the penetration pressure, the grain radius of the mold material, the radius of its pores and the density of the grains are, and the smaller the interfacial tensions are, the higher the values are that are reached by the wetting depth. The wetting angle and therefore the wettability of a mold surface can be significantly influenced by the formation of a layer of lustrous carbon.
The size of the pore radius of a compacted mold part depends primarily on the grain structure (grain size, grain particle size distribution), the additions (proportion of binder, sediments), the intensity of compaction (packing density), and the sintering behavior of the mold material.
We use the term penetration when the roughness depth is larger than or equal to the radius of the grains of the mold material. This means that it is only possible to draw a line between roughness and penetration under consideration of the grain size of the mold material.

Penetration can thus occur as a function of the following influence factors:

  • The grain size of the mold material is too large and the grain particle size distribution is too broad
  • The proportions of binder and sediment are too small
  • The proportion of materials that form lustrous carbon is too low
  • Unfavorable chemical composition of the casting material in combination with casting temperatures and metallostatic pressure that are too high
  • Inadequate and uneven compaction of the molds or cores
  • Inadequate gating system and therefore excessive overheating of molds and core components