夹渣:缺陷类型和成因

夹渣源自壳的形成,表现为铸件表面不规则的金属硬壳,仅几毫米厚,通常具有锋利的边缘,与铸件紧密连接。有顶部夹渣,即在模型水平壁上方形成的夹渣,以及底部夹渣,这种夹渣出现在铸造金属流下方的模型底板上。

这种铸造缺陷可出现在所有由膨润土湿砂型内生产的浇铸材料制成的铸件内。夹渣很可能出现在铸件的上侧表面(型腔上壁),但也可能出现在型腔底部。模型内高度压缩的铸件尤其存在风险。夹渣常与脉纹(主要在型芯铸件上)和鼠尾一同出现。这些缺陷全都肉眼可见,通常会导致报废。

膨润土粘合模型的典型缺陷

球墨铸铁铸件截面上明显的夹渣(造型材料的湿拉伸强度为0.16 N/cm²)。

鼠尾

可通过提高湿拉伸强度有效防止粒形膨胀区域(在本案例中为夹渣和鼠尾)的形成。提高湿拉伸强度(N/cm²)能有效防止缺陷(参见图下方的值)。

脉纹也源自壳的形成;但是,这种壳未破开,并由于粒形膨胀向型腔内生长,导致浇铸金属填入产生的空隙并形成脉状硬壳。脉纹常见于合成树脂粘合的型芯中(也常被称为夹渣)。

成因

浇铸金属的热(辐射,热传导)影响导致造型材料热膨胀。由于模型各区域温度不同,应力也会出现显著的差异。应力影响模型的表面层或模壁。

压应力对拉伸强度

硅砂的膨胀,特别是573℃条件下的可逆硅砂转换会导致模型表面层的压应力,这种压力导致了壳的形成。拉伸应力出现在高受热外壳及其后方仍相对较冷的砂芯之间的边界层上,造型材料必须吸收这种应力,否则就会出现缺口。湿砂型的拉伸强度,即湿拉伸强度,决定了壳是膨胀或分离,并进而导致脉纹、鼠尾或夹渣的形成。根据经验,压应力和湿拉伸强度的商可以作为判断夹渣形成倾向的依据。

F=压应力(N/cm2)/湿拉伸强度(N/cm2

压应力可被模壁的可塑性和其与表面的粘合强度(即后方的造型材料层的湿拉伸强度)抵消。如图中所示,如果机械/热负荷(应力)超过可塑性和负荷截面的强度,就会出现这些铸造缺陷。

模型表面冷凝区形成顶部夹渣是由于这里出现的压应力顶起了模型壁(a)。这一过程也常被称为壳的形成。脉纹也是由壳的形成而引起的(b)。但是,壳未破开,所以铸件上的毛边缝清晰可见。这种脉纹可通过额外的清洁工作清除,铸件还能补救。底部夹渣形成于浇铸金属液下方模型的底板上。造成壳形成的冷凝区也是此处的一个原因。如果砂壳保持与模型底部相连,壳的突起边缘就会造成夹渣或鼠尾(c)。相反,如果砂壳突起并在金属液的重力作用下裂开,铸件的下端就会形成典型的底部夹渣(d)。

Scabbing: Defect Pattern & Causes

Scabs result from the formation of a shell and appear as irregular metallic crusts on the surface of the cast piece that are only a few millimeters thick, usually have sharp edges and are firmly attached to the cast piece. There are top scabs, i.e. those that form on the upper horizontal wall of the mold, and bottom scabs, which occur below the flow of casting metal on the floor of the mold.

This casting defect occurs in all cast pieces made of all casting materials that are produced in bentonite-bonded green molds. Scabbing is likely to occur on the surface of the upper side of the cast part (top wall of the cavity), but also on the bottom of the cavity. Highly compressed parts in the mold are particularly at risk. Scabbing is often accompanied by veining (primarily on the core components) and rat-tails. All these defects are visible to the naked eye and generally lead to rejections.

Typical defect in bentonite-bonded molds

Pronounced scabbing on a section of a cast part made of cast iron with nodular graphite (the wet tensile strength of the mold material is 0.16 N/cm²).

Rat-tails

Areas of sand expansion, in this case scabbing and rat-tails, can be combated successfully by increasing the wet tensile strength. Defects are clearly prevented by increasing the wet tensile strength (N/cm²) (see values below the figures).

Veining also forms as a result of the formation of a shell; however, this shell does not break open but grows into the mold cavities as a result of the silica expanding, which causes the casting metal to fill in the resulting gap and form a vein-like crust. Veining is very frequently observed in synthetic resin-bonded cores (also commonly referred to as scabbing).

Causes

The influence of heat (radiation, thermal conduction) from the casting metal causes a thermal expansion of the mold material. Considerable differences in stress occur as a result of the different temperatures in the individual zones of the mold. This stress influences the surface layers of the mold or the walls of the mold.

Compression stress versus tensile strength

The expansion of silica, especially as a result of the reversible silica conversion at 573°C, causes compression stress in the surface layers of the mold and this leads to the formation of a shell. Tensile stress occurs at the boundary layer between the highly heated shell and the sand inset core behind it that is still relatively cool and this stress must be absorbed by the mold material if a separation is not intended. The tensile strength of green sand molds, i.e. the wet tensile strength, determines whether the shell bulges or is separated and therefore leads to the formation of veining, rat-tails or scabbing.

As a rule of thumb, the quotient of compression stress and wet tensile strength can be adopted as a way to gauge the tendency to form scabbing.

The compression stress is counteracted by the moldability of the wall of the mold (the mold material) and the strength of adhesion to the surface, i.e. the height of the wet tensile strength in the layers of mold material that lie behind. These casting defects, which are shown schematically and described here, form if the mechanical/thermal loads (stress) exceed the moldability and the strength in the load cross-section.

Top scabs thus develop from the condensation zone in the mold surface as a result of the compression stress that occurs there and that pushes up the wall of the mold and lifts it off (a). This process is generally referred to as shell formation. Veining is also caused by the formation of a shell (b). However, the shell does not break open, so that a burr-like elevated seam becomes visible on the cast part. This veining can be removed by means of increased cleaning work, and the cast part can possibly be saved. Bottom scabs form in the mold cavity below a flow of casting metal and thus on the bottom of the mold. The condensation zone that effects the formation of a shell is the cause here, too. If the sand shell remains attached to the bottom of the mold, the protruding edges of the shell cause either scabbing or rat-tails (c). In contrast, if the sand shell bulges and breaks apart under the weight of the metal that flows across it, a typical bottom scab forms at the underside of the cast piece (d).