缩孔:缺陷类型和成因

不管使用的是何种模型或浇铸工艺,所有工艺浇铸材料中都会出现缩孔。虽然压铸技术可通过在充型之后立即升高最终压力来防止缩孔形成或使其最小化。但这也不能防止生成气孔。

根据凝固孔的表现形式,可以分为闭合缩孔(内部缩孔)、开放缩孔(外部缩孔)和缩痕。由此产生的缩孔的位置通常有规律可循:外部缩孔往往出现在铸件最后凝固的上部区域、厚壁铸件区域和靠近浇口的位置;内部缩孔出现在更大的厚壁区域,尤其是壁厚强烈变化的区域;缩痕很可能出现在截面转变处和相对厚壁铸件的外表面。缩孔常与缩松一起出现。

凝固孔的形式具有顺序凝固特炼的材料(如纯金属和共晶合金)尤其容易出现凝固孔。

凝固孔

(外部缩孔)是深对称孔洞,通常具有漏斗形开口,有时延续到内部,成为闭合孔洞。孔壁大都粗糙,常呈树突状。肉眼可清楚地看到外部缩孔。

内部缩孔

位于铸件内部,与外部没有连接。形状不规则,孔壁粗糙,常覆盖有树突。在非破坏性试验过程中或最后的加工过程中肉眼可见。

缩痕是铸件表面的凹形孔洞,出现在材料积累较大的区域。缩痕的表面与铸件其他位置的表面并无不同。缩痕也是肉眼可见的。如果铸造相关措施(定向凝固,补缩)未能成功地将缩孔转移至铸件以外的区域,该铸造缺陷会导致铸件报废。

凝固和冷却过程中浇铸材料的收缩

标准浇铸金属的比容在液态时比在固态时大。因此,这些金属在凝固和冷却时必定会发生收缩。这将导致金属体积不足,并表现为缺陷形式,如缩孔、缩痕、缩松等。缩孔是凝固过程中物理体积不足和通过额外补缩补偿体积之间相互作用的结果。

技术性体积不足的多少与比容是浇铸材料的一大重要特征。与总体积不足相比,它在铸件内的分布取决于凝固过程。此处的具体影响因素包括合金中的气体含量、砂铸中模型壁的移动以及铸铁合金凝固过程中石墨的膨胀。

铸铁合金中的缩孔

灰铁体积不足的特点是下表中各金相组织的比容差异。

铸铁各金相组织的比容

金相组织比容(m3/g)
铁素体 0.1271
渗碳体 0.1303
奥氏体(C饱和) 0.1360
石墨 0.4475

在共晶凝固中,析出的石墨膨胀会阻碍奥氏体的凝固收缩。一定的石墨含量可使凝固收缩在奥氏体形成过程中得到补偿。这表明根据化学成分、冷却条件和成核作用,可能发生“自补缩”。如果析出的石墨量大,那么石墨形成引起的体积膨胀可能比金属相凝固收缩量更大,即总体来说会发生膨胀。

含有片状石墨的铸铁在共晶度升高到共晶点时,其缩孔倾向性会降低。这时,体积不足的程度最低。这同样适用于外部缩孔的尺寸和显微缩孔的比例。在过共晶阶段,缩孔倾向会再次升高。

在共晶度相同时,随着碳含量的增加,可能出现的缩孔体积减少。磷会增加缩松形成的倾向,这主要是因为形成了磷含量>0.3%的富残余金属熔液。

假设未经孕育处理的铁与灰铁一样发生凝固,对含有层状石墨的铸铁进行孕育也会增加形成缩孔、气孔和缩痕的倾向。由于共晶石墨大量析出,铸件会出现更大的“膨胀”,凝固类型也变为“浆状”凝固,这就意味着铸件轮廓会更紧密地随着造型材料的空腔膨胀。

球墨铸铁比含有层状石墨的铸铁具有更高的缩孔倾向性。如果用镁处理灰铁液,缩孔体积会从0.5 cm3 升高到5 cm3

与含片状石墨铸铁的顺序凝固不同,球墨铸铁的凝固是糊状凝固的。除可以由补缩和浇道系统控制的液体收缩和二次缩孔外,凝固过程中还会发生膨胀。

根据凝固的不同时间段,石墨在析出过程中可在外壳内发生作用,如果外壳和造型材料屈服于内侧压力,石墨就会膨胀或使外壳扩张。如果渗入铸件的金属液未充满,这一点就会导致缩孔的出现。在之后的凝固过程中,石墨会在铸件的更大区域内析出。
由于外壳可能已经收缩,自补缩的条件将变得更加有利。如果外壳仍处于共晶凝固状态,可以预见的是它将发生膨胀。假设模型是刚性的,利用这一膨胀期就能补偿二次缩孔,以高产量产出无缩孔的铸件。  

明显的亚共晶和过共晶成分、缺少孕育、高温下铸造次数过多和镁含量过高都增加了球墨铸铁的缩孔倾向。合金铸铁类型通常也显示出更高的缩孔倾向,但是,后者的影响往往与熔炼过程共同发生。

铝合金中的缩孔

同样,铝合金的体积不足也主要取决于合金成分和基准温度(冷却条件),其形成也很大程度上受凝固过程控制。
在此,外壳的承载力和补缩能力,即凝固铸件内运送金属液的条件起着非常重要的作用。
通常,可以根据合金元素含量确定收缩性的发展:基于纯材料时外部缩孔的体积大幅减小,成为凝固温度区间最大的合金,然后再次升高至共晶点。相反的规则适用于缩痕和缩松的体积。这种情况与凝固工艺的变化相对应。添加更多铜、镁和硅时,缩孔的总体积与纯铝相比会减小,而这些材料中又属硅的影响最强。当铜或硅的含量升高,Al-Cu和Al-Si的凝固收缩就会减少。但是,当存在污染时(例如铁污染),缩孔的形成会显著增加。
此外,未妥善压实的型砂或永久铸模中过高的钢锭模温度也可能引起铝合金的外部缩孔和缩痕。由于总体积不足在2%到7%之间,视成分不同,往往需要对铸件采取定向凝固措施,并进行足量补缩。

使用钠或锶进行精炼会导致砂铸和永久模铸中的外部缩孔总体积显著增加;缩痕和内部缩孔(缩松)则会减少。在实际浇铸过程中,这可能导致凝固过程在某些截面从外源性变为内源性。在这种情况下,其影响会重叠,即外部缩孔和气孔都会出现在中心区域。
在精炼过程中,必须考虑到铝硅共晶可能将自身调整为层状或颗粒状,这取决于磷的含量。在永久模铸中,两种改变表现出来的总体积不足大体相同;在砂铸中,颗粒状材料略低于层状材料。

在两种情况中,即便只添加0.02%的钠,体积不足的分布就会发生变化。在颗粒状和层状材料的情况下,外部缩孔的体积增加,而缩痕的数量则减少。之后,进一步添加钠只会引起外部缩孔体积的细微变化。在永久模铸情况下,钠几乎对层状类型没有影响。对于粒状合金,形成外部缩孔的倾向会明显降低。添加更多钠后,外部缩孔的体积增加,缩痕的数量减少。此外,在砂铸中添加更多钠会导致外部凝固孔的分枝生长。

 

来源:"Guss- und Gefügefehler" (浇铸和结构缺陷),作者:Stephan Hasse

Shrink holes: Defect Pattern & Causes

The formation of shrink holes occurs in all technical casting materials, regardless of the mold or casting process. However, the pressure die-casting technique provides possibilities for preventing or minimizing the formation of shrink holes by creating high final pressure immediately after mold filling. This does not prevent gas porosity.

Depending on the manifestation of the solidification holes, there are closed shrink holes (interior shrink holes), open shrink holes (exterior shrink holes) and sink marks. The position of the shrink holes resulting from this is logical in that exterior shrink holes usually occur in the upper cast piece areas that solidify last, in thick-walled cast piece areas and close to the ingate and the gate. Interior shrink holes occur in larger wall thickness areas and at strong wall thickness transitions in particular; sink marks are likely to occur at cross-section transitions and on the exterior surfaces of relatively thick-walled cast parts. They often occur in combination with microporosity.

Manifestations of solidification holes

Materials with small solidification intervals and smooth-wall solidification, such as pure metals and eutectic or peritectic alloys, are particularly prone to solidification holes.

Solidification holes

(exterior shrink holes) are deep symmetrical cavities that generally have a funnel-shaped opening to the outside and sometimes continue into the interior as closed cavities. The walls of the cavities are mostly rough and frequently dendritic. Exterior shrink holes are clearly visible to the naked eye.

Interior shrink holes

have no connection to the outside and are thus located in the interior of the cast piece. Their shape is irregular and the walls are rough and often covered with dendrites. They become visible to the naked eye during a nondestructive test or during processing at the latest.

Sink marks are trough-shaped cavities in the surface of the cast piece that occur in the area of larger material accumulations. The surface of the sink mark does not differ from the surface of the remaining cast piece. Sink marks are also visible to the naked eye. If casting-related measures (directional solidification, feeding) do not succeed in shifting the shrink holes to areas outside the cast piece, this casting defect leads to rejection.

Contraction of the casting metals during solidification and cooling

The specific volume of the standard casting metals is larger in the liquid state than in the solid state. For this reason, these metals undergo contraction when solidifying and cooling. This leads to a volume deficit that manifests itself in the form of defects, such as shrink holes, sink marks, microporosity, etc. Shrink holes are thus the result of the interaction between the physical volume deficit during the solidification process and the possibility of compensating it through additional feeding.

The size of the technological volume deficit in conjunction with the specific volume is first and foremost a function of the casting material. Compared with the total volume deficit, its distribution in the cast body and to the specified volume defect types depends on the solidification procedure. Specific influencing factors here are the gas content of the alloy, the mold wall movement in the case of sandcasting and the graphite expansion during solidification in the case of cast iron alloys.

Shrink holes in cast iron alloys

Characteristic of the volume deficit of gray cast iron are the differences between the specific volumes of the individual microstructure components in the following table.

Specific volumes of individual microstructure components of cast iron

Microstructure
component
Specific volume
in m3/g
Ferrite 0.1271
Iron carbide 0.1303
Austenite (C-saturated) 0.1360
Graphite 0.4475

In eutectic solidification, the expansion of the graphite that is precipitated counteracts the solidification shrinkage of the austenite. With a certain graphite content, it is possible that the contraction occurring during solidification is compensated during the formation of the austenite. This means that depending on the chemical composition, the cooling conditions and the nucleation, "self feeding" may take place. If the volume of graphite precipitated eutectically is large, the volume expansion caused by the formation of the graphite may even be larger than the solidification contraction of the metallic phase, meaning that expansion takes place on the whole.

Cast iron with lamellar graphite shows a decreasing shrink hole tendency as the chromo-saturation level increases up to the eutectic point. The volume deficit is lowest there. This applies to both the size of the exterior shrink hole and the proportion of microshrinkage. In the hypereutectic range, the shrink hole tendency increases again.

At the same chromo-saturation level, the expected shrink hole volume decreases as the carbon content increases. Phosphorus increases the propensity for the formation of microporosity, particularly due to the formation of a phosphorus-rich residual melt for P contents > 0.3%.

Provided that the non-inoculated iron would also have solidified as a gray cast iron, the inoculation of cast iron with lamellar graphite also causes an increased propensity for shrink holes, porosity and sinking. A stronger "swelling" of the cast piece occurs through increased expansion due to heavy eutectic graphite precipitation and the solidification type also changes toward "pulp-like" solidification, meaning that the cast piece contour follows the cavity expansion based on the mold material more closely.

Cast iron with nodular graphite displays a greater shrink hole tendency than cast iron with lamellar graphite. If a gray iron melt is treated with magnesium, the shrink hole volume increases from 0.5 cm3 to 5 cm3.

Unlike the endogenous shell-forming solidification of cast iron with lamellar graphite, the solidification of cast iron with nodular graphite is endogenous and pulpy. As well as the liquid contraction, which can be controlled by the feed and gating system, and a secondary shrinkage, an expansion occurs during the solidification process.

Based on the different time phases of solidification, graphite can take effect during its precipitation in the peripheral shell and bulge or expand it if it and the mold material yield to this pressure from inside. If the liquid metal sinking in the cast body is not topped up, this alone can cause shrink holes to form. Later on in solidification, the graphite is precipitated in a larger area of the cast body.
As the peripheral shell can already shrink, the conditions for self-feeding become more favorable. If the peripheral shell is also still in a state of eutectic solidification, increased expansion is to be expected.

Provided the mold is rigid, the exploitation of this expansion phase leads to a compensation of the secondary shrinkage and thus to cast pieces without shrink holes and with a high yield.

Significantly hypo- and hypereutectic compositions, missing inoculation, excessive casting times at temperatures that are too high and magnesium contents that are too high foster the shrink hole susceptibility of cast iron with nodular graphite. Alloyed cast iron types generally also show a higher shrink hole tendency, as do increased pig iron additives in the charge make-up. However, this latter impact can always be seen in conjunction with the melting process.

Shrink holes in aluminum alloys

Here, too, the total volume deficit depends primarily on the alloy composition and the reference temperatures (cooling conditions), and its formation is controlled to a great extent by the solidification process.
The carrying capacity of the peripheral shell and the feeding capacity, i.e. the conditions for melt transport in the solidifying cast body, play a major role.
In general, the following progression of shrinkage behavior can be specified depending on the alloying element content: Based on the pure material, the volume of exterior shrink holes decreases roughly up to the alloy with the largest temperature interval of solidification and then increases again toward the eutectic. The opposite applies to the volumes of the sink marks and microporosity. This state of affairs corresponds to the change of the solidification process. As more copper, magnesium and silicon are added, the overall volume of shrink holes decreases as compared to that of the aluminum itself; silicon exerts the strongest influence. As the content of Cu or Si increases, the solidification shrinkage of Al-Cu and Al-Si alloys decreases. However, the formation of shrink holes increases significantly in the presence of contamination due to iron, for example.
Exterior shrink holes and sink marks in aluminum alloys can also be caused by a sand form that was not compacted properly or, in permanent mold casting, by ingot mold temperatures that are too high. Since the total volume deficit can be between 2% and 7%, depending on the composition, measures for directional solidification and sufficient feeding at the cast piece are always necessary.

Refinement with sodium or strontium causes the amount of exterior shrink holes to increase significantly in sand and permanent mold casting; sink marks and interior shrink holes (microporosity) decrease. In real cast parts, this can lead to a change of the solidification process from exogenous to endogenous in certain cross-sectional areas. In this case, the effects overlap, i.e. the proportions by volume of exterior shrink holes and porosities are in the central areas.
During refining, it must be taken into account that the aluminum-silicon eutectic can adjust itself to either lamellar or granular, depending on the phosphorus content. In permanent mold casting, both modifications display roughly the same total volume deficit; in sandcasting, the granular material is slightly below the lamellar material.

In both cases, the distribution of the volume deficit changes once just 0.02% sodium is added. In the case of the granular and lamellar material, the volume of exterior shrink holes increases, whereas the number of sink marks decreases. After this, further additions of sodium only cause slight changes to the volume of exterior shrink holes. In the case of permanent mold casting, sodium has almost no influence on the lamellar type. In the granular alloy, the tendency to form exterior shrink holes is noticeably lower. As more sodium is added, the volume of exterior shrink holes increases and the volume of sink marks decreases. Further, adding more sodium in sandcasting causes the branching of the external solidification hole to grow.

 

Source: "Guss- und Gefügefehler" (casting and structural defects) by Stephan Hasse