冷芯盒工艺

基本原理
如名字所示,PU冷芯盒工艺以两种组分反应生成聚氨酯为基础。第1部分组分酚醛树脂和第2部分组分异氰酸盐的加聚反应由基础催化剂促成,通常通过叔胺进行硬化。

第一部分 第二部分 催化剂 聚氨酯

性能参数
硬化反应非常迅速,因而PU冷芯盒工艺对高效批量生产有着巨大的吸引力。高强度级别实现了快速、自动化且工艺可靠的制芯过程。生产完成后很短的时间内就能开始浇铸砂芯,并且最终生产完成的砂芯具有高度热稳定性,同时这也使生产尺寸精确的水套芯或油道芯成为了可能。由于其pH值几乎呈中性,冷芯盒生产中经过机械或热法再生的旧砂大部分可以重新使用。

特性和优点

  • 可快速更换芯盒
  • 出色的热稳定性
  • 硬化迅速,因而生产周期短,生产效率高
  • 初始强度高,因而取芯安全,砂芯断裂几率小
  • 高尺寸精度
  • 砂芯表面平滑
  • 模具和能源成本低

冷芯盒工艺如此成功的主要原因是它能浇铸具有高尺寸精度和高生产效率的复杂砂芯几何结构。纵观整个制芯过程,冷芯盒工艺的特征是射出的砂芯可组芯,并在生产后立即上涂料,即从射芯到可以使用砂芯的生产周期非常短。浇铸后的出色溃散性以及具有极高回收利用率的多种再生方法使冷芯盒工艺几近完美。

工艺基本原理
两种组分(酚醛树脂和异氰酸酯)与造型材料混合后,在芯盒内进行压缩并通过催化剂硬化。加聚的速率因应用和造型材料的不同而不同;至于造型材料,其比例通常为每部分0.4%到1.2%。反应(参见SEM照片)过程中产生的树脂键桥可确保造型材料稳定。浇铸结束后,浇铸中产生的热量使粘合剂分解至可以通过机械作用从铸件上除去砂芯。

优点
经济且自动化的制芯过程,极佳的“实时生产”能力。生产后需尽快将砂芯下芯至金属模或外模并进行浇铸。其生产效率大约是热芯盒的两倍。

对冷芯盒的要求
在国际竞争中占有一席之地的先决条件是以合理的价格生产具有复杂几何结构的高质量铸件。PUR冷芯盒树脂最重要的市场要求为:

  • 高反应活性
  • 减少排放和臭气污染,低单体浓度(无苯酚,无甲醛)
  • 减少胺的用量
  • 型砂混合物可使用时间长(使用寿命)
  • 芯盒清洁度高
  • 高强度级别
  • 高耐热性(热稳定性)
  • 对水性涂料的高稳定性(水稳定性)

Cold Box Process

Fundamentals
As the name already indicates, the PU cold box process is based on the reaction of two components with polyurethane. A polyaddition of the part 1 component, the phenol-formaldehyde resin, and the part 2 component, the isocyanate, is initiated through basic catalysis, usually by means of gassing with a tertiary amine.

Performance parameters
The hardening reaction is very fast, which makes the PU cold box process attractive for the highly productive production of series components in particular. The high strength level enables fast and automated core production with process reliability. The cores can be cast just a short time after production and feature high thermal stability, which also allows the dimensionally accurate production of water jackets or oil duct cores. Due to their almost pH-neutral properties, high proportions of mechanically or thermally treated used sands from cold box production can be reused.

Properties and advantages

  • Rapid model change possible (cold core boxes)
  • Excellent thermal stability
  • Short cycle times and high productivity thanks to rapid hardening
  • Secure core extraction, low core fracture thanks to high initial strength
  • High dimensional accuracy
  • Smooth core surfaces
  • Low tooling and energy costs

The main reason why the cold box process is so successful is that it makes it possible to achieve complicated core geometries with high dimensional accuracy and high productivity. When looking at the overall process of core production, the cold box process is distinguished by the fact that the cores that were shot can be mounted to core packages and coated directly after production, i.e. short cycle times are possible from the shot to the core that is ready to use. Excellent disintegration after casting and various possibilities of regeneration with very high reuse rates round off the picture.

Fundamentals of the process
The components, phenol-formaldehyde resin and isocyanate, are mixed with the mold material, compressed in a core box and hardened with a catalyst. The addition rates can vary depending on the application and mold material; in relation to the mold material, they are usually between 0.4% and 1.2% per part. The binder bridges that develop during the reaction (see SEM photo) ensure that the molding material compound is stable. After casting, the casting heat has weakened the binder bridges to the extent that the sand can be removed from the cast part by means of mechanical input.

Advantages
Economic and automatic core production and excellent possibilities for “online production.” The cores are inserted into the ingot or green sand mold as soon as possible after production and then cast. The productivity is about twice as high as that of the Croning method.

Requirements for cold box
The most important prerequisite for standing one’s ground in the international competition is to produce high quality cast parts with intricate geometry at a reasonable price. The most important market requirements for the PUR cold box resin are:

  • High reactivity
  • Reduced emission and odor pollution or a low concentration of monomers (free phenol and free formaldehyde)
  • Reduction of amine consumption
  • Long processing time (bench life) of the sand mixture
  • High core box cleanliness
  • High strength level
  • High thermal resistance (thermal stability)
  • High stability with respect to water-based coatings (hydro-stability)